Secretary-Treasurer Ruben Burks



March 20, 2013

Dear Representative:

On behalf of the four million members of the Alliance for Retired Americans, we strongly urge you to vote against the Fiscal Year 2014 budget introduced by Rep. Paul Ryan (H. Con. Res. 25) ("Ryan budget"). This budget plan would fast-track cuts to Social Security, gut Medicaid and dismantle the Medicare program – all while giving \$5.7 trillion in new tax cuts for the wealthy and corporations.

The Ryan budget portends to balance the budget in 10 years, but this is done by decimating programs that help the middle and lower-income Americans, seniors and persons with disabilities. In fact, according to the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, the Ryan budget gets 66% of its spending cuts from programs like Medicaid, Food Stamps and Pell Grants.

The Ryan budget breaks America's promise to seniors and jeopardizes their health. By replacing Medicare's guaranteed benefits with a flat premium-support payment, or voucher, which is not expected to keep up with inflation, Ryan's plan would significantly raise out-of-pocket healthcare costs for most Medicare beneficiaries. Likewise, raising the Medicare eligibility in 2024 will leave 65 and 66 year olds uninsured, forcing them to buy insurance in the individual market and paying excessively high premiums. Ryan's plan for further means-testing Medicare benefits would force individuals with annual incomes as low as \$47,000 to pay higher premiums. The Ryan budget jeopardizes nursing home care by slashing Medicaid funding by almost \$800 billion. By repealing the Affordable Care Act, the Ryan budget will leave millions of people uninsured and eliminate preventive screenings and drugs discounts for current Medicare beneficiaries.

For these reasons, we strongly urge you to oppose the Ryan FY 2014 budget proposal. Should you have any questions, please contact Richard Fiesta or Eva Dominguez at the Alliance Department of Government and Political Affairs.

Sincerely yours,

Lanleana

Barbara J. Easterling President

Rahen Burks

Ruben Burks Secretary-Treasurer

Edward F. Coyle Executive Director

 (\mathbb{R})